President Biden announced on September 9 his intent to nominate to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) Willie L. Phillips, Jr., currently Chairman of the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia.  FERC currently has four sitting Commissioners as the result of the departure in July of Neil Chatterjee, whose term expired and who was not reappointed.  Chatterjee is a Republican; Phillips is a Democrat.

Phillips was formerly Assistant General Counsel for the North American Electric Reliability Corporation.  When Phillips is confirmed to serve on FERC, the Commission’s membership will be 3 Democrats and 2 Republicans.  For more, click here.

New FERC Commissioner named by President Biden
Tagged on: