EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND SECRETARY – RICK WEBB retired in 2014 as a Senior Scientist with the Department of Environmental Sciences at the University of Virginia. He is a Board Member of the West Virginia Highlands Conservancy.

GIS ADMINISTRATOR – DANIEL SHAFFER is a Geographic Information Systems consultant. He was the principal architect of ABRA’s Compliance Surveillance Initiative (CSI) mapping system. He is responsible for the technical aspects of ABRA’s Conservation Hub.

STAFF ATTORNEY – ANDREW YOUNG leads ABRA’s campaign to improve public accessibility of critical environmental information and works in close collaboration with partner organizations to hold regulatory agencies accountable using all tools from FOIA requests to litigation. He is a Board Member of the Cowpasture River Preservation Association and West Virginia Highlands Conservancy.

COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATOR – OLIVIA MILLER is a writer and strategic communications professional. She is responsible for managing ABRA’s media communications, website development and maintenance, and newsletter production.

RESEARCH ASSISTANT – JO WIGGINS is a senior at the University of Virginia studying environmental science with minors in data analytics and urban and environmental planning.


CHAIR – ALLEN JOHNSON is also Chair of the Eight Rivers Council and Coordinator for Christians for the Mountains.

VICE-CHAIR – KATE BOYLE is Deputy Executive Director of Appalachian Voices.

TREASURER – LARRY THOMAS is the Public Lands Committee Chairman and Past President of the West Virginia Highlands Conservancy.


JUDY RODD is Executive Director of Friends of Blackwater.

BEN LUCKETT is an environmental attorney with Appalachian Mountain Advocates.

DAVID SLIGH is an environmental attorney and Conservation Chair of Wild Virginia.

RANDY KESLING is Conservation Chairperson of the West Virginia Chapter of Trout Unlimited and a Board Member of the West Virginia Highlands Conservancy.