Cheryl LaFleur has been named as Acting Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) by President Trump (announced January 26).  Thursday afternoon Commissioner Norman Bay, who has served as Chairman since Aril 2015 submitted a letter of resignation, effective February 3. This leaves FERC with only two sitting Commissioners, three vacancies and no quorum.

LaFleur, a Democrat member of FERC since 2010, previously served as Chairman from July 2014 until April 2015.  She was previously a utility industry executive. The now three vacancies that President Trump must fill will require Senate confirmation.  They will presumably be Republican appointments since the other remaining Commissioner, Colette Honorable is also a Democrat.

LaFleur Named Acting Chairman of FERC; Commissioner Bay Resigns
Tagged on: